Let me share my excitement!

Welcome back! and if this is your first time, WELCOME.

1973-super-beetle FOR 1956-ford-f100-alfie-3

What started out as yet another internet search to see what light trucks were on the market became a deletion of one 1973 aircooled VW Superbeetle, named Ladybug and the addition of the 1956 Ford F100 named Alfie. This post is a homage to the event about that add-on and with it something to propel me to creating more. I am excited about this. 

The internet search

When I went to Royal Roads I realized that I was good at researching. I have the marks to prove it and perhaps thats why I can pull up so much stuff up.Plus I did some more when I did army ops. One of the recent searches I did, Monday 17 Oct 16 which three days ago, showed me this white 1956 F100 among some other ads. Like any truck I am interested in, I reached out to through the ad. In the response, I found out a lot about the truck and including where it was, and I think condition – engine etc. I just so happened that I have one of those engines so know I could fix it into running shape again.

discovery of crucial details

I did not want to spend money on it, so offered up the 1973 VW SuperBeetle. There were points both good and bad about this exchange. No money exchanged hands was a great point! And I fulfilled a previously agreed  plan- a good point! another classic and previously sought-after vehicle- a good point and it was within driving distance. Some bad points were that I did not change the engine from the Bug to the Ghia. I had not yet road-tested the truck and trailer combo- initially a bad point then a great point! and many more points.

Goodbye Ladybug

Never did I think this was to be.  Ladybug is not around for my niece. It was a good dparture and the new owner understands beetles because he owned one which caught fire on him and burnt to the ground- lucky to be alive, I’d say. And no, it wasn’t a benzene-fueled furnace misfiring but a fuel leak in the engine compartment. He now has a rebuilt barely broken professional rebuild that cost over $2500. Great deal. I suggested he save the engine when that time comes for him to part with it.

red-superbeetle-in-cuba

alfie-comes-across

Welcome home Alfie.

So here you go, I know you are still one the trailer and then he will not stray. Until you get used to this design, let’s keep it like that.1956-ford-f100-alfie-1 1956-ford-f100-alfie-4 1956-ford-f100-alfie-8

 

Wouldn’t you do the same?

Be sure to stop in again to see what’s going on with Alfie and many of the other projects!

This entry was published on October 20, 2016 at 8:19 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

